Share on WhatsApp

Radio Free Asia is led by President Bay Fang. 

Radio Free Asia is a private, nonprofit corporation, funded by the U.S. Congress through the United States Agency for Global Media (USAGM), an independent federal government agency that oversees all U.S. civilian international media. RFA’s non-partisan Board of Directors includes leading journalists, issue experts, former officials, and scholars who are all committed to RFA’s founding principle of informing and empowering audiences living under authoritarian regimes, while holding those in power to account.

RFA Leadership

Bay Fang, President

As President, Ms. Fang provides Radio Free Asia with leadership, vision, and mission-based strategic and operational direction. She first came to RFA as Managing Director for East Asia, overseeing the management and editorial content of RFA’s five East Asian language services. She went on to become RFA’s Executive Editor, supervising coverage across all of Asia. Ms. Fang earned her undergraduate degree at Harvard University and was a visiting fellow at Oxford University and a Fulbright scholar in Hong Kong.  


Carolyn Bartholomew, Chair

Carolyn Bartholomew joined RFA’s Board of Directors in September 2021, bringing almost two decades of experience on nonprofit and corporate boards, in addition to a lifetime career of foreign policy expertise in RFA’s region and markets. She is a Commissioner on the Congressionally-appointed U.S.-China Economic and Security Review Commission (USCC), for which she has served as Chair five times and as Vice Chair six times. Prior to her service on the USCC, she held senior-level positions in Congress, including on key committees overseeing Asia foreign policy and funding foreign aid, and congressional leadership, as a long-time counsel, legislative director, and chief of staff. She has particular expertise in U.S.-China trade relations, security issues, and human rights, and has led efforts on the promotion of human rights and strengthening civil society in countries around the world. She received a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Minnesota, a Master of Arts in Anthropology from Duke University, and a Juris Doctorate from Georgetown University Law Center. She is a member of the State Bar of California.

Michael J. Green

Mike Green joined RFA’s Board of Directors in September 2021 and is currently serving as senior vice president for Asia and Japan Chair at the Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) and director of Asian Studies at the Edmund A. Walsh School of Foreign Service at Georgetown University. Previously, he served on the staff of the National Security Council (NSC) from 2001 through 2005, as director for Asian affairs and as special assistant to the President for national security affairs and senior director for Asia.

Michael Kempner

Michael Kempner has been on RFA’s Board of Directors since 2014. He is the Founder, President and CEO of MikeWorldWide (MWW), a public relations firm he founded in 1986. From 2010-2012 he served on the White House Council for Community Solutions. He is currently a board member of Goodwill Industries International and a Founding Board Member of ConnectOne Bancorp.

Keith Richburg

Keith Richburg joined RFA’s Board of Directors in September 2021 and is currently the Director of the Journalism and Media Studies Centre at the University of Hong Kong. While serving as bureau chief in Beijing and Hong Kong for the Washington Post, he reported on the 1997 Hong Kong handover and the Chinese Communist Party’s 18th Party Congress in Beijing in 2012. He is also the President of the Hong Kong Foreign Correspondents Club.


Rohit Mahajan, Secretary (Acting)

Rohit Mahajan is Radio Free Asia’s Chief Communications Officer. He joined RFA in 2009, and previously worked on Capitol Hill and as a journalist in community news.

Patrick Andrew Taylor Jr., Treasurer

Patrick Andrew Taylor Jr. has been RFA’s Chief Financial Officer since March 11, 1996 and is currently the Treasurer. Prior to joining RFA he was the Vice-President & CFO of TransCentury Corporation.

View Full Site