Mon Unity Party

Mon State

Mon Unity Party was registered in 2019 as two Mon parties merged: the Mon Democracy Party -- earlier known as the Mon National Democratic Front which was founded in 1988; and the All Mon Region Democracy Party which was founded in 2010 when the Mon National Democratic Front boycotted the election. Both parties contested the 2015 election but in total won only four seats. They are hoping their merger will give them stronger representation after the 2020 election, when they will contest at least 12 townships in Mon and Karen states and Tanintharyi Region. The party’s political aims are advocating for human rights for ethnic Mon and achieving federated status. Its leader is Dr. Min Nwe Soe.