Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP)

The main opposition party. It was founded in 2010 by ex-generals who were key players in former military regime. The USDP won 56 percent of the seats in 2010 elections that were boycotted by the NLD but only a fraction of that in 2015 elections. The USDP will again contest the elections nationwide. It is a nationalist party.

Than Htay

He is a retired brigadier general, and has served as minister of energy and minister of railways. He became USDP chairman in 2016 after Thura Shwe Mann was removed from that top position in 2015. Although Than Htay is party chair, the most prominent face in the party’s election campaign is likely to be former president Thein Sein, who led the USDP government elected in 2010 and oversaw Myanmar’s political opening.